Saturday, January 19, 2008


John and Charles Wesley published Hymns on the Lord's Supper in 1745. It contains 166 hymns, organized into six sections:

  1. As it is a Memorial of the Sufferings and Death of Christ
  2. As it is a Sign and a Means of Grace
  3. The Sacrament as a Pledge of Heaven
  4. The Holy Eucharist as it implies a Sacrifice
  5. Concerning the Sacrifice of our Persons
  6. After the Sacrament

I'll be posting the hymns in reverse order and then, perhaps, adding a few comments.

No comments: